Matthaei Botanical Gardens is hosting free guided nature walks on select Wednesdays and Sundays.  These walks are FREE, no registration is required.

Matthaei Botanical Gardens’ Winter Walks are held most Wednesdays and Sundays through April. These free, guided walks will take place inside the Conservatory (though if the weather is particularly wonderful, we may move outside – watch this page for updates).  MBG Winter Walks are designed for all ages to inspire curiosity and learning from each other through activities that model curiosity and honor nature. If we have a sizeable mixed-age group, we may separate into two sets to offer the same content at different levels of engagement.

Wednesday walks begin at 5:30 pm.  Sunday walks begin at 1:00 pm. We recommend gathering inside the lobby of Matthaei Botanical Gardens about 10 minutes before the start.

Observing Nature
Wednesday, January 18, 2023 5:30 pm- 6:30 pm New Year Nature Journaling
Sunday, January 22, 2023 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm Art-sy Observations
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 5:30 pm- 6:30 pm ***canceled due to poor weather conditions***
Plant Protectors
Sunday, January 29, 2023 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm Adaptations to Climate & Predators – thorns and spikes
Wednesday, February 1, 2023  5:30 pm- 6:30 pm Adaptations to Climate & Predators- water
Wednesday, February 8, 2023  5:30 pm- 6:30 pm Camouflage: Hiding in Plain Sight

 

Plant Food Pantry
Sunday, February 12, 2023 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm Tropical fruits and flavorings
Wednesday, February 15, 2023  5:30 pm- 6:30 pm Spices
Wednesday, February 22, 2023  5:30 pm- 6:30 pm Menu Marvels

 

Nature Stories
Sunday, February 26, 2023 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm Nature Story
Wednesday, March 1, 2023  5:30 pm- 6:30 pm Nature Story

 

Biome Deep Dive
Wednesday, March 8, 2023  5:30 pm- 6:30 pm Biome boundaries

 

Magic in the Moment
Sunday, March 12, 2023  1:00 pm- 2:00 pm Magic in the Moment
Wednesday, March 15, 2023  5:30 pm- 6:30 pm Magic in the Moment

 

We are hoping the weather will cooperate for outdoor walks for those listed below.  Please dress accordingly!

Spring has Sprung
Wednesday, March 22, 2023  5:30 pm- 6:30 pm Spring/Vernal Equinox
Sunday, March 26, 2023  1:00 pm- 2:00 pm Nature wakes up from a long winter nap – trees
Wednesday, March 29, 2023  5:30 pm- 6:30 pm Nature wakes up from a long winter’s nap – trees & other plants
Wednesday, April 5, 2023  5:30 pm- 6:30 pm Nature wakes up – early spring ephemerals, if up, signs of spring

 

Planet Earth
Sunday, April 9, 2023  1:00 pm- 2:00 pm Biodiversity
Wednesday, April 12, 2023  5:30 pm- 6:30 pm Native plants
Wednesday, April 19, 2023  5:30 pm- 6:30 pm Positive human connections to the planet

 

Animal Activity
Sunday, April 23, 2023  1:00 pm- 2:00 pm Spring migration, frog and toads
Wednesday, April 26, 2023  5:30 pm- 6:30 pm Bird migration
Sunday, April 30, 2023  1:00 pm- 2:00 pm Insect helpers